Chessmonk 0.1

Now that Chessmonk is actually very usable as a pretty PGN viewer, I decided to make a release with the intention to generate some feedback.

Get it here:

http://www.chorse.org/stuff/chessmonk/ (hosted by Patrick Schnorbus)

Requirements:

You’ll need recent PyGtk and gnome-python libraries. It also uses GnomeCanvas. Gentoo users, make sure you have the SVG loader for libpixbuf installed. 🙂

Screenshot (click for larger size):

Chessmonk 0.1

6 responses to “Chessmonk 0.1

  1. Pingback: chorse's weblog

  2. Nils R Grotnes

    Nice work, it seems to work troublefree here on Debian (Sid).

    I have played around with SVG a little, thinking about making a Firefox chess extension. For pieces I was using Unicode characters, but a bug currently prevents that from working. Maybe I could use your Chessmonk pieces? Did you make them yourself? If so they are licensed under the GPL I suppose.

    I’m also fooling around with some Python code for storing chess positions in a compact but still readable way. (I got it down to 24 bytes per position now.) It’s a tiny part of an idea I have for a free and open chess site where games collected from everywhere would be available. I don’t have very much time to work on any of these things right now, but feel free to email me for brainstorming or even small(er) tasks that would help you with Chessmonk.

    Nils

  3. Hi Daniel,

    Chessmonk looks cool! Can you give me advice on installing it on XP? I downloaded the source code, but cannot yet run it. I have Python2.4 installed (haven’t yet got GnomeCanvas-whatever that is!).Thanks

  4. hi, got it to run, but it cannot seem to open .pgn files… error ‘result’ ?!

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/Chessmonk/mainwindow.py”, line 107, in on_open
    self.load_games(fc.get_filename())
    File “/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/Chessmonk/mainwindow.py”, line 89, in load_games
    self.gamelist.load(filename)
    File “/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/Chessmonk/gamelist.py”, line 60, in load
    self.store.append([game.index,
    KeyError: ‘Result’

  5. Hello viper,

    if I’m not mistaken that’s because your PGN files are missing the [Result] tag. This was fixed by Nils in the SVN version, so it wouldn’t be required anymore.

  6. Hi Daniel,

    How goes the development of Chessmonk? Are you still planning on adding features to it? I really like the idea of a gtk chess database program (there is also chessx out there which is qt). I think most important features to be considered are uci engine support and db support — sqlite/mysql/pgsql (pgn files are big and slow). I would also love to get involved in this project but I don’t know if I will ever find the time. I am also not a professional software dev although I have some experience with C and I am learning gtk+. I can also offer advice from a chess players point of view (I am a decent player – 2275 elo with lots of expecrience).

    Thanks and regards,
    Bogdan

Leave a Reply

