mobti

For the last month or so I have been working intensively on a site called mobti. I got the idea for it when I was discovering something new about my personality, and thought it would be nice to have a website where I could easily find people of a certain MBTI type, e.g. to find out if there are commonalities. The idea expanded and for a long time I put the project on hold, thinking that it would probably take too long to tackle right now.

While it’s not quite finished yet, it is basically usable and I was quite pleased with the amount of work I got done in this relatively short time period. The biggest time saver turned out to be the decision to switch from code igniter to CakePHP, which spared me from having to implement many mundane details, like an authentication system (I know that CI has third party libraries for this, but I couldn’t find anything that appealed to me). I used jQuery for the Ajax and effects and quickly fell in love with it. The last time I used JavaScript was many years ago, when it was virtually impossible to write anything moderately complex and expect it to unconditionally work on all major browsers. It is almost unbelievable how much things have improved, and I’m actually looking forward to write more JavaScript based interfaces now.

2 responses to “mobti

  1. Seems like a free version of eHarmony.. Did you look at it?

  2. Interesting. No, I didn’t look at it yet.

    From what I can tell from the tour, mobti seems to be essentially different in many ways though (aside from being free :) ). Mainly that it uses the MBTI and does not claim to tell you anything about your type, other than telling you which types you are similar to (I will enable this once there is enough sample data to provide meaningful results). Other than that it’s entirely up to the user to decide which type they believe to be.

    Also mobti is not so much focused on dating/relationships and also aims to be an enjoyable place for anybody interested in typology or even just having fun in a personality-conscious community. :)

    I also believe that the best way to start a relationship, is by not actually looking for one. So I don’t want mobti to be a site where people go only to find a partner, even if they are potentially interested.

Leave a Reply

